Carolina’s win over Arkansas in 2015 was not only the 750th win in Roy Williams’ collegiate head coaching career, it also was his 65th victory in NCAA Tournament play, tying him with fellow Tar Heel Hall of Famer Dean Smith for the second-most all-time.  
The 2015-16 season is Williams’ 13th as Carolina’s head coach and 28th as a college head coach. Williams is a member of the Naismith Basketball, College Basketball and North Carolina Sports Halls of Fame, leading Carolina to national championships in 2005 and 2009, three Final Fours, six Elite Eights, five NCAA Tournament No. 1 seeds in 11 appearances, seven Associated Press Top 10 final rankings, six ACC regular-season titles, two ACC Tournament crowns and five 30-win seasons. NBA teams have selected 15 of his UNC players in the first-round of the NBA Draft.
  Two of his most-decorated recent players – 2012 ACC Player of the Year Tyler Zeller and senior guard Marcus Paige – have combined to win the Skip Prosser Award as the ACC’s Top Scholar-Athlete in three of the last five seasons. Williams is the only NCAA coach to have two different players (Zeller and Kansas’s Jacque Vaughn) earn Academic All-America of the Year honors.  
  ESPN, Sports Illustrated, Sporting News and Fox Sports named Williams the Coach of the Decade for 2000-09 after he led Kansas and Carolina to 33 NCAA Tournament wins, eight more than any other coach.  
  Learn More